Dancing in the land of shadows

on

I love to dance.
I don’t dance often enough.
I love the feel of movement.
I don’t move often enough.
I have tried many forms of dance.
I’m a rubbish dancer.
I love to dance.

.

I also love to watch dance but sadly don’t do that often enough either.  There are several dance companies I particularly enjoy.  Pilobolus is one of them –  a modern performance company founded in Connecticut in 1971 but still finding new and exciting ways to use the human body to create art.  Their name is as cool as their dance, Pilobolus being a tiny fungus with transparent stalks that shine like glass and which “throws” its spores with exceptional strength and accuracy.

I recently found this video snippet of their beautiful piece Shadowland which is currently touring Europe, although unfortunately no dates for the UK.  The choreography is so clever and the movement so graceful and precise that the effect is simply stunning.

Enjoy!

.

.

Vohn

x

Leave a Reply

