Homemade Lemon Curd

Hello dear reader

You may remember I made marmalade a couple of months ago and was so pleased with the outcome, I described the results as “little jars of bottled sunshine”.  Well it has still been quite cold and wintery here in the UK so I wanted some more homemade sunshine to cheer me up.

I love the sweet-sharp tang of lemon curd and decided that its pale yellow was perfect for ushering in our long-awaited spring.  I have, for may years, been converted to buying only artisan curd, as it is so much nicer than the mass produced versions, which I now find too sickly sweet.  I had heard that homemade lemon curd was even nicer, so I decided to give it a go.  Quick search online and I found a recipe by the wonderful Nigel Slater in an old issue of the Guardian newspaper.  I could never match his evocative descriptions, so here is my picture version of his recipe…

lemons

.

zest

The kitchen is now filled with such wonderful fresh lemon scent that I am instantly transported back to our honeymoon and walking through the beautiful lemon groves around Sorrento.
Hurrah again for sunshine!

butter

.

melt

.

melted.

eggs
cute chicks not necessary to recipe!

.

beaten

.

cook

.

cool

.

jars

Hats off to Nigel – this was an easy to follow recipe although it did take a little longer to cook than he suggested.  Most importantly, it is absolutely delicious – it tastes really fresh and zingy with just the right touch of sweetness.  It will keep for about two weeks in the fridge.

Here is the jar all nicely labelled and covered!

dressed jar

Do you like the label and cover?  I downloaded the basic graphics from Furry Graphics, who have loads of lovely crafting papers and ideas.  I then edited them a little to how I wanted them to look and cut a pretty scalloped edge with my crafting scissors.
This jar is now winging its way to my dad for his birthday.

So dear readers, do you like Lemon Curd and have you ever made it yourself?

Vohn

x

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Susan says:

    Lorraine is right Vohn that IS an ace job, well done it takes tiem and effort to do a post so well. The curd looks fabulous too. x

    1. Vohn says:

      Thank you very much Susan. I love your blog and am genuinely chuffed that you have taken the time to stop by here. Thanks, Vohn x

  2. These are great photos and instructions, particularly for people that are making the lemon curd for the first time! 🙂

    1. Vohn says:

      Thank you so much Lorraine. I feel honoured that a blogger of your standing has taken the time to have a look at my little blog. I’d like to have better photos, so am currently saving my pennies for a better camera. Thanks, Vohn x

Leave a Reply

