Choco-nana-hazelnut Smoothie – Shake Up Your Wake Up

Hello Dear Reader,

I hope you have been having some delicious breakfasts this week to Shake Up Your Wake Up with Farmhouse Breakfast Week.

Yesterday I had my sugar-free homemade granola on chopped apple and enjoyed it so much. What to do, though, if you really can’t face eating in the mornings?

How about a healthy smoothie?

My Berry Smoothie is super-healthy and chock full of anti-oxidising berries. Today’s smoothie gives you a chocolate fix/hit, without the excess saturated fat and sugar that comes of eating actual chocolate!  Cocoa powder (unlike chocolate) is low in saturated fat, rich in anti-oxidants, and is a good source of vitamins, minerals and fibre.

Choco-nana-hazelnut smoothie

Choco-nana-hazelnut Smoothie – recipe
Slice a banana into a blender, add 100ml hazelnut milk and 1½ tsps sugar-free cocoa powder. Blend until smooth and foamy and serve immediately.
If you don’t want to use/make hazelnut milk, substitute this for a milk of your choice and add in a tablespoon of chopped hazelnuts.

Healthy & delicious!  Enjoy!

Vohn

x

.

.

.

6 Comments

  1. Oh you’ve reminded me that I need to make my own nut milk Vohn! A friend gave me a recipe 😀 Your smoothie looks great!

    1. Vohn says:

      Thanks Lorraine! I’m loving my nut milk – been making a batch every week! Vohn x

  2. bigjewonadiet says:

    We need hazelnut milk in the UK! Is it like almond milk??

    1. Vohn says:

      Thanks for popping by. I’m in the UK too – I was trying to find an almond milk that didn’t have lots of additives but to no avail, so I made my own nut milk. Since I much prefer hazelnuts, I went with them instead of almonds – the recipe is at http://vohnmcg.com/2014/01/27/hazelnut-milk-shake-up-your-wake-up/ Enjoy! Vohn x

  3. Choclette says:

    Love your milk bottles and how you made hazelnut milk – fab idea. The shake sounds mighty delicious. Might have to take you up on the unhealthiness of chocolate though – depends on the chocolate you are eating.

    1. Vohn says:

      Thanks Choclette! The milk bottles are so cute aren’t they – a Christmas pressie – I got six in a cute little milk crate! I know exactly what you mean about the chocolate but most people aren’t the choco-connoisseur that you are! Vohn x

Comments are closed.